Once condemned, the refurbished Genoa Town Hall stands as a tribute to the Village’s civic pride and rich history. The hall’s bell tower is visible from most of the town’s quiet streets and bells chime out the time at the top of each hour.
The Genoa Opera Hall was completed January 2, 1883, and had an opening with the play, “The Three Wise Owls” by A.O. Miller. The building immediately became the hub of activity in the Village. Council and other important meetings were held there and still are.
Built in the Gothic revival style, the structure features eight ornamental chimneys, and a hand-carved sandstone mask of Dionysius, the Greek God of theater, which rests over the main entrance. An exterior renovation, including rebuilding of the bell tower and ornamental chimneys, replacements of the slate roof and restoration of the window glass, was completed in 1979. The century-old entrances were also made handicapped-accessible.
The building can be found on the National Register of Historic Places.